Waterbury Reckless Driving Lawyer
Serving Clients throughout New Haven, Hartford & Litchfield Counties
At the Law Offices of Michael T. Barrett, we have aggressively defended the rights of criminal offenders in Connecticut for 13 years. Our vast experience in criminal law matters pertaining to traffic violations makes our firm a top choice for locals.
Once you hire our firm to defend you, we will thoroughly investigate the details of your case and give you professional guidance about your legal options. Should you decide to fight the charges, our Waterbury reckless driving attorney can help you build a solid defense case that could result in proving your innocence or reducing the penalties that you face.
Have you been arrested and charged with reckless driving? Our Waterbury reckless driving attorney is ready to represent you! Call the Law Offices of Michael T. Barrett, LLC, today at (203) 448-4431 or contact us online to get started!
What is Considered Reckless Driving in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, reckless driving involves irreverence or indifference toward the safety of others and their property and generally includes:
- The vehicle being driven in a manner that puts others at significant risk
- The vehicle being driven over 85 mph or at a speed that endangers the life of another
How Reckless Driving Charges Can Impact You
Reckless driving is a very serious traffic violation and is charged as a criminal offense. First-time reckless driving offenders can be fined in between $100 to $300. They may also face up to 30 days in jail. Subsequent offenders will incur higher penalties.
In addition to fines and imprisonment, those convicted of reckless driving will have their license suspended by the DMV for a period of no less than 30 days. Repeat offenders will suffer license suspension for at least 60 days.
How Long Do You Have to Report an Accident?
In Connecticut, you have five days to report an auto accident if it has resulted in property damage worth at least $1,000. You should contact a law enforcement agency that is closest to your location. They will use a form provided by the state to file the auto accident report. The state's minimum insurance laws include the following liability coverage:
- $40,000 in liability coverage if more than one person is killed or injured
- $20,000 in liability coverage for one person is killed or injured
- $40,000 in liability coverage per accident in uninsured or underinsured auto insurance coverage
- $20,000 in liability coverage per person
It can take several years for an auto car accident to conclude and can cause significant emotional trauma and financial loss for those involved with the person losing the case experiencing a much bigger loss.
Contact Us Today
It is understandable to be stressed out about the potential consequences of a reckless driving conviction. If you find yourself in this position, turn to the Waterbury reckless driving attorney for qualified legal counsel and representation. When you contact the Law Offices of Michael T. Barrett, you can be confident that everything that can be done to fight against your charges is being done.
Contact the Law Offices of Michael T. Barrett, LLC, today for a FREE case evaluation!
Get to Know Our Firm
Detail-Oriented and Goal Focused Representation
When You Hire Us, We are Available to You 24/7
Clear, Focused Communication
SuperLawyers Rising Star in 2015
Personalized and Approachable Care
Over a Decade of Legal Experience